New year, new challenges

Happy New Year!

Here’s hoping that 2014 is awesome for you all, and that you’re ready for some new challenges in the coming 12 months.

I will be undertaking some new ventures this year after a hiatus in which I’ve moved, started a new job, and acquired a few new hobbies. The first challenge I’ll be after is the Trail26:

“Taking place from Grizedale Forest Visitor Centre close to Hawkshead in the Lake District, this popular location for both trail runners and mountain bikers is perfect for our event series. The route will largely take place on forest trails with some stunning views of Coniston Water and also Lake Windermere if you choose the Trail 26 option. If you think the route will be flat then think again, Grizedale Forest and the surrounding areas provide challenging hills and rolling trails throughout the route.”

I’ve never done a marathon before, let alone an off-roader with a bit of ascent thrown in for good measure. In all honesty, I have no idea whether I can do it. But hey, I guess I won’t know until I give it a bash! And I have two months to train in. That’s enough. Right?

Following from this, I’m also hoping to undertake my first Ultra run this year, but don’t worry, I haven’t forgotten that I still need to finish the Stevenson Way first! As soon as the seasons change I’m heading back to the Highlands to carry on where I left off and tackle this beastie.

So that’s a taster of things to come, and I hope you’ll be joining me for the ride.

Here’s to a happy and adventure filled 2014.

Jay

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment